Skip to content

SUPPORT MIKE PRINGLE

March 26, 2008

On Tuesday, I sent a message to Mike Pringle [who introduced a bill into the Scottish Parliament in 2005 in regard to plastic carrier bags] which read

“I am wondering whether you have been able to reintroduce your bill regarding plastic bags into the Scottish Parliament? Surely, this is the time for Scotland to take a lead on this issue.”

I went on to tell him of the overwhelming support we were having from Members of Parliament, Councillors, shoppers and traders in Banchory. However, I also had to mention that a very few shops were not in favour of the campaign and others were waiting for instructions from Head Office and, although I had had positive responses from some Head Offices, I felt that it would take legislation from government for the others to react.

This is the reply I received:-

“I have now reintroduced my Bill into the Parliament & await the outcome of a hearing at committee. The Lib/Dem on the committee is your own MSP Mike Rumbles so I know I will get good support from him.

Mike Pringle

Thank you, Mike, and good luck.

THOSE OF YOU READING THIS WHO LIVE IN SCOTLAND SHOULD BE SENDING MESSAGES TO YOUR OWN MSP’S TO URGE THEM TO ADOPT AND HELP PASS MIKE’s BILL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

